Skip to main content

We analyzed 6,554 websites for accessibility šŸ†

Read the report

Section 508 compliance

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 requires Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities.

Request demo See an accessibility report
Honeywell eBay Santander grand valley state university

What is Section 508?

There are two legal requirements for website accessibility in the United States. The ADA applies to all websites, and Section 508 applies to websites receiving federal funding.

All US websites are subject to Title III of the ADA, which prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities.

Section 508 initially consisted of a set of proprietory accessibility requirements unique to the United States, but as of 18th January 2018 Section 508 follows the international WCAG 2.0 standard.

The upside of this is that accessibility standards are now almost the same internationally, with WCAG 2.0 AA becoming the de-facto standard for almost everyone.

How can Silktide help you become compliant?

Section 508 applies to federal websites and any websites that are receiving federal funds. It does not generally cover websites operated by state or local governments. It mandates that your website is compliant to WCAG 2.0 AA standards.

Silktide’s web accessibility testing platform provides the tools you need to check your website’s compliance against WCAG 2.0 and WCAG 2.1. WCAG 2.1 includes additional success criteria for mobile device accessibility.

See an accessibility report

Get a free demo

Get in touch with our friendly experts and weā€™ll prepare a custom report for your website.

Request demo